Due to the COVID pandemic, operations at Chapel Off Chapel have changed – please click here for further information.


Beneath the Surface


What lies beneath the surface?

Is it the words we never say, but always hope to one day utter? Or the tremor in our hands as our deepest emotions and fears threaten to erupt from within?

Join us for an intimate afternoon of contemplation through contemporary and near-new chamber music, featuring the works of Osvaldo Golujov, Moya Henderson, local Melbourne composer Luke Severn and more.

How Slow the Winds (2001) – Osvaldo Golijov (ARG)
Beneath the Surface ( 2018) – Luke Severn (AUS) * World Premiere*
Opus 89 (1929) – Amy Beach (USA)
Kudikynah Cave (1987) – Moya Henderson (AUS)
Selections from Sea Chronicles (1998) – Paul Stanhope (AUS)

Kelsey Cotton (voice)
Natasha Conrau and Sarah Coghlan (violins)
Clare Gorton (viola)
Luke Severn (cello and composition)


Seating: General Admission.

Please make sure you arrive a minimum of 15 minutes prior to the performance start time. The performance has a strict ‘Lockout Policy’, latecomers will not be permitted.

Please Note: To ensure the safety and integrity of the performance, if you choose to exit the theatre you will only be permitted to re-enter at the discretion of the front of house supervisor. Entry will only be permitted during suitable break in the performance.

If you require wheelchair access, please call our Box Office on 03 8290 7000.